People are like stained-glass windows

Elizabeth Kubler Ross has a great quote and its one of my faves….People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”
Yoga has so much to teach us about acceptance. Heather has a lovely post about self acceptance ”http://yogaouttheyinyang.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/non-yoga-self-improvement-or-un-unpretty/ She’s such a wonderful example of ‘beauty on the inside reflected outward’. She  has been reviewing yoga studios in and around Toronto and she also posted a review of Ahimsa Yoga studio and for me the 2 posts are very connected.  In Yoga Ahimsa is one of the  Yamas and Nyamas, the do’s and don’ts of yoga, if you will, and it  means “Do no Harm” and that idea must start with ourselves, Do ourselves no harm. The concepts of  compassion & acceptance have to begin with us, only then can we can translate it to others.

Om Shanti

Cheryl

3 thoughts on “People are like stained-glass windows

  1. I was also very interested in the “do no harm” philosophy of Ahimsa. I was raised by very religious folks with a million rules for a million situations. As an adult, I think it all comes back to that one rule: Do No Harm. If you start from there, everything else becomes easier to deal with. It’s true that I have a harder time applying it to myself than others. Thanks for this post and your wisdom. I enjoy reading your blog very much. 🙂

    Like

    1. I agree! What I find so interesting about the yamas and nyamas is their rather vague. So easily interpreted, that really reflects the traditions of the Indian continent. Sooo unlike the dogma found in the west regarding, well, everything. Rules for this and that and no straying from that narrow path, a kind of ‘my way or the highway’ philosophy. Maybe I will write about the yogic do’s and donts it’s so interesting.
      Thanks for reading, I enojy yours as well.

      Like

Let me know what you think.

